RBI Retail Digital rupee launching today, December 1: Check full list of cities, banks offering digital wallet transaction

Today, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) will introduce the retail digital rupee (e?-R) in four Indian cities: Bengaluru, New Delhi, Mumbai, and Bhubaneswar.

On November 1st of last year, the central bank had begun a pilot in the wholesale market for digital rupees. Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, and Bhubaneswar will be the first four Indian cities to participate in the retail digital rupee (e?-R) pilot today. The RBI will later expand the programme to nine additional cities during the initial phase.

What is The RBI retail digital rupee (e?-R)?

The e?-R would take the shape of a digital token that stands in for money. It would be distributed in the same denominations that coins and paper money are now distributed in. It would be distributed by means of middlemen, namely banks.

How are transactions in RBI retail digital rupee (e?-R) carried out?

Through a digital wallet provided by the participating banks and kept on mobile phones or other devices, users will be able to conduct transactions with e-R. Both person-to-person (P2P) and person-to-merchant transactions are possible (P2M).

QR codes that are displayed at retail places can be used to make payments to retailers. The e?-R would provide characteristics of actual money, such as trust, safety, and finality of settlement. Like cash, it won’t accrue interest and can be changed into other kinds of payment like bank deposits.

Eight banks have been chosen to take part in this pilot project in phases. Four banks—State Bank of India, ICICI Bank, Yes Bank, and IDFC Initial Bank—will launch the first phase in four locations throughout the nation. Following the initial four banks, this pilot will also include Bank of Baroda, Union Bank of India, HDFC Bank, and Kotak Mahindra Bank. Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, and Bhubaneswar would be the first four cities the pilot would cover. Later, Ahmedabad, Gangtok, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Kochi, Lucknow, Patna, and Shimla would also be included. According to RBI, the pilot’s parameters may be gradually expanded to include more banks, users, and locations.

The Central Bank further added that the pilot will test the robustness of the entire process of digital rupee creation, distribution and retail usage in real time. Different features and applications of the e?-R token and architecture will be tested in future pilots, based on the learnings from this pilot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


OpenAI Appoints Pragya Misra as Government Relations Head in India

OpenAI, the renowned developer of ChatGPT and a frontrunner in artificial intelligence research, has taken a significant step in expanding its global footprint by hiring its first employee in India. Pragya Misra, appointed as the government relations head, will play a pivotal role amid India’s ongoing elections, which are crucial for shaping AI regulations in […]

Read More

From Retirement to Revitalization: The Growth of Senior Living in India

The world’s elderly population is surging and India is expected to accommodate upto 17 per cent of the world’s elderly population by 2050, said a report by CBRE South Asia Pvt Ltd. In India, the segment is witnessing substantial growth, driven by favorable demographics, rising chronic conditions, and increasing awareness. And with the rising number […]

Read More

Tata’s Strategic Moves in India’s EV Market: A Closer Look

  Tata Motors, a stalwart in India’s automotive sector, is making strategic maneuvers to capitalize on the evolving landscape of electric vehicles (EVs). With the recent announcement of importing Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) luxury electric cars under a new government policy, Tata is positioning itself at the forefront of the country’s electric mobility revolution. The […]

Read More